Start a new topic

Sonoff 4CH Pro for speakers?

Hello! 

I'm new to home automation and currently trying to find solutions for my different challenges. 

One thing I'm trying to find is a good way of changing between different sets of speakers in different rooms. I have a normal reciever with an analogue switch today, and speakers in 4 different rooms with cables running to the receiver/switch. 

So my question is if it would be possible to use two Sonoff 4CH Pro (one for left and one for right channel), hook them up to a 5V input through the low voltage port, and then as input use the wire from the receiver, and as output, the four different speakers, all this times two (left right).

Will this work, or are there any doubts about my idea? Or is it better to use some other Sonoff device to fix my issue?  Thanks in advance! 

In theory yes, you can do it with one switch by switching the ground side of each room instead of the L&R channels.  BUT BE AWARE that those speaker switches have impedance matching networks inside to protect the amplifier and speakers.  If you intend to turn sound on in more than one room at a time you will need to duplicate the functions of the analog switch, including the impedance matching, with your IOT switch.  My 2 cents worth is to proceed only if you know what you are doing with the impedance matching.

1 person likes this

Thanks! I have an old analogue speaker switch today, that takes care of the impedance problems, so my idea now is to hook up the Sonoff after the Switch, to take care of that issue. I will open it today to see how it looks and if I can find any other ideas. :-) 

Yeah, it is an interesting application.  The existing switch expects a load to be on each circuit so while hooking  the sonoff up after the switch might protect the amp I suspect you are going to get some significant volume level changes depending on how many rooms you have turned on.   Let us know how it works out!

1 person likes this