Start a new topic

Temperature alarm system with buttons and variables

Hi,

I have a 5 inch Nextion display and I'm trying to have it connect with my arduino for a project I'm doing. I am new to the Nextion world and I just need some help figuring stuff out. What I'm trying to do is have a start and stop button, to start the main code and stop it, and also have a text box be a variable in my main code. The text box will have a number in it that someone can change to have the alarms go off at a different temperature, for example if the temperature needed to be at 650 for the alarms to go off instead 500 then they can just change that. The HMI works perfectly when I use the debugger thing but I'm struggling with figuring out how to implement it into my main code.

{
      if (myRA.getAverage() > 26)
      {
        digitalWrite (Alarm, HIGH);   // turn the Alarm on (HIGH is the voltage level)
        delay(1000);             // wait for a second
        digitalWrite(Alarm, LOW);    // turn the Alarm off by making the voltage LOW
        delay(500);                // wait for a second
      }
      else
      {
        digitalWrite(Alarm, LOW);
      }
    }
  }
}

The text component (t0) variable should where that 26 is at the top, I'm just not sure how to code it to have it work the way I want it to. And then the start and stop buttons just have to start the main code and stop it.

Sorry if this is too broad of a question or it's to simple and shouldn't be on here I'm just looking for some help 

(I attached both the code and HMI files so that you can understand what I'm talking about a little better)

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

ino
(3.73 KB)
HMI

Not even going to download

What the heck is line 5 and line 7 ??

It's to have the alarm sound go on and off...

right now it's just attached to a really big buzzer so instead of it being a constant sound it just goes on and off along with a LED light 

That may be your purpose for having them there -- what is it?