Start a new topic

[Tool & Tutorial] Photoshop Custom Filter for RGB 565

======  Photoshop Custom Filter for RGB565  ======

A READY-TO-USE .PSD FILE WITH THE RGB565 FILTER IS ATTACHED AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOPIC, FEEL FREE TO DOWNLOAD AND USE IT.

> Introduction

I've been working with Nextion Displays for a few months now (especially with the 4.3" model) among with the Nextion Editor and Photoshop to design the UI but with the latter I had some troubles with the RGB565 format.

Designing the UI of a product involves a phase when you must choose and design stuff with a precise color palette but, since Photoshop doesn't support the RGB565 mode, the final result on the display could be slightly different from the one you designed on the computer. 

To solve this issue I created a very simple filter (I don't know if it's the correct term to describe it) which simulates the RGB565 format in Photoshop.

(Yeah, I know that you can export BMP files with RGB565 natively from PS but that is a step further than the design phase itself)

> The RGB565 Image Format

That's easy. Every number in the "565" represents the number of bits assigned to every color channel:

• Red: 5-bit - 32 levels
  • Green: 6-bit - 64 levels
  • Blue: 5-bit - 32 levels

The reason why the remainder bit is assigned to the green channel is because the photoreceptor cells in the eye are more sensitive to this particular wavelength of light and so are able to distinguish more levels of it.

> The SOLUTION : The Posterize Adjustment Layer

I'm not a Photoshop Guru and so I asked a designer friend of mine if it was possible to reduce the number of bits of an image by using any "trick" or something else. He came out with this "Posterize" filter wich is used to set the number of levels of colors of a particular image (see image below).

That fits perfect for our needs, now we just need to create 3 different posterize filters, one for each channel.