Start a new topic

Nextion/Arduino Project Hits a Stumbling Stone

Hello All

After months of lurking and working. I have hit a stumbling stone that I can't get past and need to ask the community here for help.

Let me start this off by saying that I am not a coder...more like a jack of all master of none experience level. Also would like to say that I have made the "Nextion Instruction Set Wiki," the other itead examples, and reading of the free chat forums here and arduino documentation the foundation for everything I've done thus far.

Project Scope:

*Use a touchscreen to send commands to a microcontroller to activate mini relays that will activate the coil circuits of larger relays to control all of the circuits in a project car that I’m building.

Example: touchscreen low beam button press sends a serial command to the microcontroller-->proper microcontroller digital i/o pin changes state and activates a mini relay->mini relay being energized closes the coil circuit of a larger under-hood relay that sends power to the low beam head lights.

Hardware:

*12v/24V to 5V 5A power supply

*qty 3, 8 channel 5V mini relay boards

*arduino mega 2560

*nextion 7" touchscreen, basic model #NX8048T070_11

Connections:

*relay board power circuit = relay board DC+ terminal to 5V+ terminal on power supply AND relay board DC- terminal to 5V- terminal on power supply

*arduino power circuit = arduino 5V+ terminal to power supply 5V+ terminal AND arduino GND terminal to power supply 5V- terminal.

*Nextion power circuit = nextion +5V terminal to power supply 5V+ terminal AND nextion GND terminal to power supply 5V- terminal

*Nextion TX terminal connected to arduino 0 terminal (RX of hardware serial 1)

*Nextion RX terminal connected to arduino 1 terminal (TX or hardware serial 1)

In other words...common power and ground connections for all of the 5v stuff(nextion, arduino, and mini relay boards)

Current Status: