Start a new topic

Yahtzee Game for the 4.3 inch resistive touch unit

I am new to this type of panel and found it quite interesting.  I was looking for a medium sized panel that was restive touch.  Also wanted to interface it to a microcontroller that was not an Arduino model.

I read the chat about a Yahtzee game was hooked on trying it out.

I found out quickly that it was not going to work on my display since I only had 480x272 and it was built for 800x480.  Most of the design was done as an image and placed as the background.

So I set out to build my own version to fit my screen and also get use to how this new display works.  What a great challenge!

First I found that the events can not run any of the script commands and only the basic logic instructions.  So you can in-bed a line drawing command to place it on the screen.  You can send these command form another device but not in-bed them in the unit.

So all the items have to be built using Paintbrush and imported into the studio tool.  This turned out to be not to bad and the font generation tools was nice but I found the rendered fonts to be poorly spaced and some letters truncated.  I guess I need to use a different font maybe.

At first placing item on the screen seem confusing and not vary accurate but after seeing that everything is an object and has attributes that can be easily adjust to where you want it I was very happy with the out come.

Digging around to find the documentation was somewhat confusing since they seem to be in different places with different links.  After a while you build up links that get you to where you need to go.