Start a new topic

Intel Edison Arduino Board + Nextion LCD

I bought a 4.3' inch NX4827T043 Nextion touchscreen display for my project. I'm going to use this lcd to communicate with sensors and the microcontroller i prefer is Edison Board. Fyi, i'm quite new in programming. Getting started with this lcd, i use Arduino IDE to compile the sample sketch "CompButton_v0_32" from ITEADLIB_Arduino_Nextion-master library however i get the error  'itoa' was not declared in this scope. Someone give me an advice to modify itoa function in the stdlib.h. Does anyone here success to compile the skecth after modifying the code?  

If i use nextion-master library from another author i get the error SoftwareSerial.h: No such file or directory. From intel forum, i get to know that SoftwareSerial library is not compatible with Edison board as the architecture of Edison is x86. 

I read a thread 'Multiple 0xFF returned after every transmission' from this forum and found out that Andrew use mraa library to transmit data through UART. And Patrick Martin, he mentioned he use kylix.

I have lost. Could anyone please guide me how to make my Nextion lcd working with Edison board. At least, where should i start?

Start with the Edison and Arduino board for Edison documentation.

The Arduino Edison has a least one UART exposed. 

- use that RX/TX pair to connect Nextion to.

Check your board's documentation to ensure it can power the 4.3"

and if it is questionable - use a clean 5V 1A supply for Nextion.

Ensure GND is common on both the Nextion and the Edison.

Look into the Arduino of Things which supports Arduino on Edsion

- Intel's support of how to code does not expand into Arduino

Then write your Arduino style sketch, It should have something like

Serial.print("t0.txt=\"Hello\"ÿÿÿ);

- changes HMI t0.txt on Nextion to "Hello"

But read the documentation, and re-read it again.

- not being sure is not an excuse when it fries.