Start a new topic

Write float to number box

Getting on great with text boxes and python code on my raspberry but lost on number boxes. I have a variable kWh lets say with a value 12.09865432 and I want to write it a number box, as 12.09. Any ideas please John

I'm not a python expert, but in C/C++ I'd convert and format the kWh value with the help of the printf() function into a string with two decimals (which is one line of code) before sending it as text to a text box.

Thierry I'm confused as a thought I would use a number box. If i use a text box, what are number boxes used for?

By limits of the firmware, the number boxes can only hold 32bit signed integer values which are stored as 4 bytes. The rendering is done by a hex to decimal conversion.

A text box is a basically a number box with variable storage space (text length + 1byte as string terminator) which does interpret the bytes not as hex value, but as an array of ascii bytes, for rendering.

Therefore, in my novice mind am I ok to use text boxes to store text or numbers?

Nextion is expecting a 32 bit signed number for a Number component

Nextion does not have float support - floats with decimal will need a Text Component

Yes, since the text box is more universal (and uses a few more internal system resources).

The number boxes are to be considered as a special case, kind of "text box light" which can ONLY display 32bit signed integer values and therefore will use a little less memory. That's all.

Thanks for your help. John

As Nextion is a simple integer based MCU

Another means of approaching this is

Integer portion as Number Component with lenth 0

Decimal point as a Text Component or embedded in background

Fractional portion as Number component with lenth 3

For 12.098... kWh a little math PI side send 12 to first Number Component

Subtract 12 leaving you with 0.098.  Multiply by 1000 - send 98 to second Number Component