Start a new topic

Button Touch Leave option

Hello!

I'm new to the Netion LCDs but I like it very much so far! Thanks for putting up this project.

I have a question - is there any method to detect touch leave from button? When you keep the finger pressed on button and then move it away while still touching - the button stays pressed - it is unacceptable in my project due to safety reasons.

I thought about sending actual coordinates to MCU, but the Nextion device sends coordinates only when touching/releasing :(.

Please advice me or can you add such a feature? I would love to use Nextion in my projects and purcharse more of them, but this option is really necessary to me.

Take care, BR,

Simon

1 person likes this idea

the only object, which offers a slide-observation is the SliderBar ... so, maybe just using a SliderBar as a Button may work?

Without knowing exactly what you really like to do it is a bit hard to suggest any ... maybe when knowing exactly what you like to do we also can offer a working solution .... maybe ...

It is not very realistic, that such a "feature" is implemented ... at least not in the near future ...

ok, assuming, that you

- click the button

- trigger exactly one time an action which starts when you press the button

I think you are after a "button onetime-click and release functionality ..." ...

This can be done easily with this code inside your button OnPress action ... assume, your buttons name is b0

delay=100
click b0,0
//your action

- the delay makes that you still can see the press color change

- the click event release the button again after 100ms

- and now just execute your code after this ...

On this way, you press the button, trigger your action, but also release the button automatically, independent where your finger still is ...

btw. there is no "do something as long as the button is pressed" functionality in general. When you press a button, exactly one action is triggered ... otherwise you need a timer ...