Start a new topic

Data trending

Hi all,

I'm making a project with my not enchanted 3.2 inch Nextion HMI. Its my first project so still i have a lot to learn :-)

I want to log data of 5 values in 3 trending screens on the HMI:

-Pressure transmitter 1 (Screen 1)

-Pressure transmitter 2 (Screen 1)

-Delta pressure (Screen2)

-Flow 1 (screen 3)

-Flow 2 (screen 3)

This data also needs to be saved for analyses, and must contain date and time.

The data should be available for around two months.

I could not find usefull information about how to make a trend with the Nextion HMI, en how i can store the data?

Someone has any idea how to make a trend on the Nextion HMI?

I did play around with the waveform last day. Actually it's not too hard to make a basic trend as long you stay on that page. So for now i want to experiment with some other functions and come back later to this thread if i have any troubles with recovering the data..
Anyway thanks for this advice. It did give me a good insight of the possibility's.

First, where to store the two months of data. 

If you have the enhanced version 3.2, then it will have an RTC and an eeprom that can house 1K (1024 bytes).  This is not much space for entries.

Second is where are these values coming from?  Typically they are received by the MCU and not by the display, so it makes much more sense to do data logging from the MCU side - how depends on what facilities are available to your MCU to perform the data logging.

Third, you have a few possible choices to show a trend,

1) perhaps the waveform component which is limited to 4 channels

- is valid only while on that screen, data dumps between screens

- so data needs to be backfilled when your screen loads

2) design your gui from gui commands of the instruction set

3) combine components together create your desired way to display your desired trend.

Another consideration to your design is

- how many data points are displayed in the trend?