Start a new topic

Camperputer

Hello everybody.

Let me first introduce myself.

I am Roel and building my own camper.

As the wheather is getting colder i came up with the brilliant idea to buy a Arduino and program it as a camper monitor/controller. Since there is nothing available for after market campers or way above my budget.

I ordered a breadboard, some sensors and a Nextion screen after reading some reviews and looking at some impressive videos. 

How hard could it be to build such a simple 'Camputer'???

Well a lot harder than i thougt it would be apperantly. 

Off coarse i should have started with the simple Arduino examples, since i have zero programming experience and start building up from there, but who is going to do that right?

After a few weeks surching the internet to see if there is not an example i could just tweak a little bit i was very dissapointed to see there was not even a clear example available to control one output on the Arduino with a simple button.

As i think that controlling an output with a button is the start of my (and many other) projects i would like to share it with you.

I also managed to control an output PWM with a slider.

The value of the output is also displayed in % on the screen.

Now i have to go on trying to add some extra's for the electrical step, so the step can't slide out when it is allready out and vica versa.

And all the other things i wish to control or monitor in my camper.

I hope i can help others with my relatively simple codes.

ino
tft
(1.33 MB)
HMI
(1.96 MB)

Maybe a summary of features would be helpful for those of us who do not know what a camper monitor is, and what it does.

With my camputer i would like to:

Monitor:

• temperature in and out (by reading temp probes)
  • voltage of two batteries (with voltage dividers)
  • state of my retractable step (in or out) (read out existing micro switch)
  • levels of clean water (2 jerrycans) (load sensors)