Start a new topic

Using "nexLoop" and having issues...

I have a fairly simple code for running my 7 inch Nextion display with my aftermarket automobile ECU. It works great. The way I have it setup is the second page is DS buttons used to operate a relay board to turn things on and off in the car. That works great also. The problem is it will only work with nexLoop in my main loop. When I insert it at the beginning of the main loop it renders my first page of display values virtually worthless. If I comment nexLoop out of the first page it works great but then I lose relay control. I am a programming beginner so please keep that in mind. Any suggestions on my error OR a workaround? Thanks. 

From the examples folder, NexLoop(nex_listen_list) inside the main loop should be correct.

Do you want to post HMI and ino files?

Attached is the code.  I really wish I could just take the serial input from the nextion button events and use them to activate my relays. Then I wouldnt need to call the nextion library and i could get rid of nexLoop. I tried using the recievemessages.ino I found in one of the examples but it keeps telling me myNextion is not declared on this scope,. I have been researching it for a while and I'm getting a little frustrated. :(

ino

I took a peek at your code:
I am not going to go through all, just point out a few

You have 4 DualState Buttons defined at the top, which you listen for their Release Event in Setup()

I am not going to do a byte count gauge_display()

but here you deviate from the library constructs

-- you didn't just declare the NexGauge? and the use setValue()

-- you didn't just declare the NexText components?

Part of what you miss here is that before sending out on serial you should be receiving any info that the Nextion has sent through first, once received is complete, then comes your turn to send

This is clearly overridden in your direct writes.