Start a new topic

Sending commands from plain C. Looking for a working example!

Hello everyone,

I've been trying for some hours now to get communications with the Nextion working from/with plain C  (on Linux & OSX).

The Nextion display is connected to my computer using a USB/Serial adapter.
("/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART")

Now I am not a C programmer, this is basically the first C program that I need to write except for "Hello World!", so that is not the best starting situation.
(I do however have experience with plenty of other environments like Arduino, Python, PHP, Golang, etc.)

I have a test program that has been written in Python that can change pages and gauges, so the entire hardware connection and wiring must be working correctly.

But, back to the C programming language:

Reading commands sent from the display to the computer was something I had working fairly quickly using some examples for reading serial port data.

But sending a command TO the Nextion display is something that I simply can't get working. (Once again: when I fire up my Python script, things work perfectly).

I've tried many things with "\xFF" and "ÿ" as command terminators, serial port settings, unsigned vs signed char strings, etc. etc.

So can someone, an experienced C programmer, perhaps help me out here?

(I'm basically only finding examples for Arduino, Raspberry Pi, etc.)
What I'm looking for is a standalone program written in C, compiled with GCC using termios.h etc

My current code version looks like this.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <unistd.h>  //Used for UART
#include <fcntl.h>   //Used for UART
#include <termios.h> //Used for UART
#include <errno.h>

int uart0_filestream = -1;

int initUART()
{
	uart0_filestream = open("/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART", O_RDWR | O_NOCTTY | O_NONBLOCK); //Open in non blocking read/write mode
	if (uart0_filestream == -1)
	{
		perror("open_port: Unable to open /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART - ");
		return (-1);
	} else {