Start a new topic

Another look at Radio Buttons

Hi,

First up, I'm not a programmer or computer expert, just a hobbyist with a project that involves a Nextion connected to an ESP8266.

On one of my Nextion pages I have a group of 10 selection buttons. For indication purposes, the selected choice should change color, much like a group of Radio buttons. I'm using ordinary buttons for this, as I don't need the sofistication of dual state or other refinements. All that is easy enough to do.

I'm posting this just in case others would like to use the idea, but also to ask which of the 2 methods (question for the MCU guru's) is the most efficient.

I actually have 3 methods, but one of them is a bit of code back on the ESP, similar to page 1 in the attached HMI. And that is the least efficient as we need to use the Serial lines.

So on page 0 we have the quick and dirty method, just a bunch of catch all writes.

Page 1 the refined method, but we have Variables, nested 'ifs', reads and writes.

Over to you guys.

Cheers indev2

HMI

Perhaps this was addressed in the Nextion Gallery v38 Radio Buttons - How to do a workaround ?

In looking at the HMI and keeping in what you stated sending it over serial is least efficient

- efficiency has several meanings.  You are hardly about to run out of resources in the K3.5".

So how do you want to measure the efficiency?

@Patrick

Indeed it was and thanks for that. But like others frustrated before the addition, I used a method that swapped out the colours back on the ESP.

This is my method, very simple

byte ter2 [3] = {0xff, 0xff, 0xff};//Terminating characters

void toggleButtonColor() {  

NexSerial.print("b");

NexSerial.print(activeButton); //Gives the button number

NexSerial.print(".bco=65248");

NexSerial.write(ter2, 3);

NexSerial.print("ref b");

NexSerial.print(activeButton);

NexSerial.print("b");

NexSerial.print(lastActiveButton); Gives last button number

NexSerial.print(".bco=33800");

NexSerial.print("ref b");