Start a new topic
Not Taken

Component value assignments.

Hello, 

I am new to Nextion HMI display. I think it’s a very novel way to handle the interaction between a graphical display and a micro controller. The editor brings back memories from programming the Automanager Workflow environment in Dos and Windows. That experience reveals something about my age I think. Now before I get conditioned by working with this system I want to write about my first impressions.

It took me some time to fiddle out how to assign a value to a component. This was so simple that probably nobody thought to include it in the instruction documentation. I think the instruction list should contain an entry about “=” with some examples :-)

Digging deeper I noticed an asymmetry between the way the Nextion reports back to the micro controller and the way you can control the display with the micro controller.

For example:

Setting a number have to sent: n1.val = 123

Getting the number you sent get n1.val and this returns: 0X71+variable binary data(4 bytes little endian mode, low in front)+End

For integers you sent the value in ASCII and receive it back as a 32 bits integer.

The touch event reports back: 0X65+Page ID+Component ID+TouchEvent+End

So you have to use component names to sent a command but you receive the ID.

Using names for components and attributes is a wonderful thing in the editor but in the communication with the micro controller a real pain.

I feel that the commands to control the Nextion must be in the same format as the Nextion returns the data so that you can set an attribute by sending: 0x3A+Page ID+Component ID+Attribute ID+Value+End for a component and 0x3B+Page ID+Attribute ID+Value+End for a page. 0X3A and 0x3B are arbitrary chosen, take whatever comes handy.

To ease the maintenance of the component ID’s I think that the Editor must have a button that copies the Component name – Component ID list to the clip board like:

enum NextionComponents {