Start a new topic

'nextion' was not declared in this scope

Mega2560

Nextion 2.8

I am very new to the Arduino and am trying to get the nextion-master Examples to verify. I keep getting the error below? this is the example given online.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include <Nextion.h>

Nextion myNextion(nextion, 9600); //create a Nextion object named myNextion using the nextion serial port @ 9600bps

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

if (myNextion.init("Home")) {

Serial.println(F("Nextion Ready..."));

} else {

Serial.println(F("Nextion not responding..."));

}
}

void loop() {

myNextion.setComponentText("t0", "Hello");
  delay(1000);
  int value = 1234;
  myNextion.setComponentText("t0", String(value));
  delay(1000);

}

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Error when I verify

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UpdateText:3: error: 'nextion' was not declared in this scope

Nextion myNextion(nextion, 9600); //create a Nextion object named myNextion using the nextion serial port @ 9600bps

^

exit status 1
'nextion' was not declared in this scope

1 person likes this idea

Hello Anthony I have the same problem, have you had any response yet, I have tried with a UNO and a DUE both on a 7" nextion display using the ITEAD Library. Running any of the demo's produces exactly the same error report"'nextion' was not declared in this scope". 

I have been able to run, however, the double Progress Bar demo (can't remember where it came from) that doesn't use the library. See code below:

int value=0;
int value2=100;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
 value++;
  if(value>100){
  value=0;
  }
  Serial.print("j0.val=");
  Serial.print(value);
  Serial.write(0xff);
  Serial.write(0xff);
  Serial.write(0xff);