Start a new topic

Serial Help needed

I don't fully understand how to send data over serial from my Nextion display to a Photon using the Nextion editor. I want to push a button and then read in that the button was pushed on my Photon to then perform some kind of event (starting with a simple turning on an LED to make sure it works).

Does anyone have experience using the Nextion display with a Photon and know how to send data from the Nextion to the Photon and read it properly?  It seems like the Nextion will send multiple bytes each transmission.

Sorry I'm a newbie with the Nextion and Photon. ANy help will be appreciated.

I have ported the Nextion Arduino library and it can be found in Particle Build as `ITEADLIB_Nextion` - have a look at the examples and ping me @ScruffR in the forum, if you need more help.

@ScruffR The ported library looks great and has helped a lot for the most part. I am still having some issues trying to figure out how to type the user coded in the Nextion Editor so when (let's say I push a button) it will send the button id to the Photon.

Do you have any examples of how to get this to work?

Thanks again for all the help.

I have the Nextion command list page and tried to get it to send what I want multiple times. I feel like I am just typing something wrong or trying to recieve it in the wrong way

If you want give me your Particle @ here so we can chat there (I'm online there most the time ;-) )

But you don't need to code anything, just tick the checkbox "Send Component ID" on the "Touch Press Event" and/or "Touch Release Event" tab(s).

I'm not sure what my particle @ is and to even find out what it is. I'm completely new working with the Photon and its website. You have helped a ton so far and I greatly appreciate it. I got my display to communicate with my Photon. I was wondering if you could help clear up something for me.